The Material Art Prize is an award funded by the sale of Material Vodka. Material Vodka was established to function as an alternative funding mechanism for non-commercial arts. The Material Art Prize is given with no strings attached, and the artist is free to do what they wish with the award. The founding mission of Material Vodka is to reinforce non-traditional practices and build a family of artists with access to the support necessary to create important and challenging work. The Material Art Prize grows in direct proportion to sales calculated over a six month period, thus Material customers are partners and benefactors of the art community as a whole. Recipients of the Material Art Prize are selected by an independent committee of esteemed curators, publishers and artists, composed of Negar Azimi (Bidoun), Bridget Donahue (Bridget Donahue Gallery), Adrienne Edwards (Performa & Walker Art Center), Lia Gangitano (Participant), Kathy Halbreich (MOMA), Stefan Kalmár (Artists Space), Adam Pendleton (Visual Artist), Mònica de la Torre (BOMB Magazine), and Martha Wilson (Visual Artist).